d�� a�� q�� g�� D�� F ���� design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2002-10-06 | 6:41 a.m.

They're Up There Somewhere

I usually get up at 4am for a healthy breakfast of Folgers or Columbian Supremo, so I wasn�t really surprised when the alarm went off at 4am on Friday. I was pissed, however, as I couldn�t get to work at 6am like normal because I had to take Herbert in for an oil change at 7:30. When I tried to set the alarm to 6am and get some more sleep, nothing but madness ensued. This button started the radio, that button made �10� mysteriously flash. When I thought I finally had it, I realized through my 4am sleepy haze that I had set the alarm to 4am and the time to 6am, not the other way around. At which point, I pulled a Jerri Blank from Strangers with Candy, and knocked everything off my dresser with my arm in a childish fit of rage.

Given that the alarm was now inoperable, I decided to just get up. Since I had a few extra hours to spare, I decided to read all of the dribble in my diary and look for spelling mistakes. I�d like to reason this as keeping my English skills sharp as I once was a newspaper editor. No really � what, just because I use run-on sentences, clauses replace whole paragraphs, and I haven�t a clue about punctuation, you don�t believe me? Fine, be that way.

The truth is, I am just anal retentive enough to fill the few moments of extra time I have editing my own diary, not watching TV or writing a letter to my sister I haven�t spoken to in 11 months, or cleaning the house which is now officially carpeted, even though I have no carpeting (those damn cats lose more hair that I would have ever thought possible, and the Hoover vac is just no match.)

Reading my old entries, I realized something. I�m truly am a mathematician. I mean � I already knew that, but most of the time I feel like I�m just faking it. People are so much smarter than me when it comes to math, like those people that can take square roots in their head and solve 3 variable polynomials (remember those?) without pen and pencil. Bastards! It always leaves me feeling very inadequate in comparison because even though I can do some pretty incredible stuff with my HP120c, I can�t do anything without my calculator. The numbers just aren�t there in my brain automatically like they are for other mathematicians. I have to force them in.

Although, reading through my diary, I was amazed to find how many numbers I work into my writing. Just look at my first paragraph, 4 4 6 7:30 6 10 4 4 6. There�s numbers all over the place. I think they really are in my brain somewhere, I just need to get them working for good instead of evil � or rather I need to get them working for my evil boss and stop working for my diaryland entries. Recognizing their existence is a small step, but it gives me hope.

Uh oh. It�s 6:31. Speaking of numbers in my head� that�s a spooky one. No really, I see it everywhere. I see 6:31 on the clock everytime it comes around. I see it in road signs and interest rates and addresses. If it�s there, my eyes will move towards it. Last week I was driving past an address of 631 on highway 631 and I looked down at the clock and it was 6:31. I almost went off the road. Avoid 631 at all costs kids, I don�t know what it is, but it freaks me the hell out.

But the point is, I should be off to play with geeks in the great city of New York again. 9am-5pm conference of discussing insurance and mortality and interest and annuities and perpetuities and reserves. Jealous?

Now it's your turn... 2 comments so far:

chaotic-mind - 2002-11-13 10:42:08

hey! i have a 6:31 as well. 'cept it's 9:11, and 4:20...no, im not on crack(4:20, bob marley...yeah, anyways). its just everytime i look up ts either 9:11 or 4:20. freaky...oh, and the traffic thing? here's another theory. The Paranoid Crackhead it's the government, man. they're just, like,messing with your head, dude. all those cars in front of you? they were government agents, man. they were like, tootally covering up and alien landing, man. hey, wait, how do i know YOU'RE not an agent? stop looking at me! AH! THE END IS NEAR!!! RUN AWAY! Erin


edduhduh - 2002-11-13 10:42:21

Holy Sh*T. I have a 631, only it's 715 for me. I see it everywhere. Time, address, songs. People call and say, let's meet at so-and-so at 7:15. I just scream and hang up.


Prev | Next