d�� a�� q�� g�� D�� F ���� design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2002-10-22 | 5:38 a.m.

Racist Hamsters

I�m not awake yet.

To solidify that fact, I had to try typing that sentence 4 times before I found the right sequence of keys, and I�m a good typist. I even had a job as a secretary for 3 months once. Impressed?

I have to go back to work today, dammit. I took yesterday off to study all day, seeing as how the exam date is rapidly approaching and I weep thoroughly at the thought of it.

I studied for 12 straight hours, and the only thing I can remember today is that I have more nose hair than a monkey. I could be in a traveling freak show for the forest that grows in my snout. At one point yesterday, I was so desperate to distract myself from studying that I wandered into the bathroom to do a bit of tweezing. I got through one full nostril and looked into the sink and saw what I thought was a hamster, but it was just the pile of discarded nose hairs. That was enough to send me back to studying.

Of course, I didn�t get to the other nostril yesterday, so now I have one hairless and one hairy. I wonder if I�ll lean to one side when I try and walk. Can that sort of thing throw you off balance like an ear infection? We soon shall see. But for now it�s almost 5:04am, I�ve been up for 15 whole minutes and I�m not in my car yet, driving to work to do more studying. And I�m feeling guilty for it. What kind of a life is that?

Does anyone have a job for a failing actuary who�s slightly jaded against the world and has long, course black hairs protruding out of one side of his face? Something that doesn�t require that I leave the house, pass exams, or use the telephone would be great. Send inquiries by clicking on one of those clicky buttons above.

I�m so very tired.

P.S. Thank you for all the new people who listed me as a favorite or sent me a note or email recently. I get no greater thrill than seeing I have a new reader or knowing that I managed to somehow make someone laugh with this dribble. Unfortunately, studying 12 hours a day and weeping for 9 hours afterward leaves very little time for responding to your emails. Mangus said that he learned it was rude to not list someone as a favorite immediately after they list you, but I�m just going to have to be rude here and tell you a little story. I once added someone to my favorites after reading a few quick entries that I thought were cynical and funny, and then proceeded to read the daily updates containing the most ignorant, racist, bigoted things ever spewn forth in a diary before, and I was more ashamed and embarrassed than Dan Quayle at a 4th grade spelling bee. The point being, please don�t be offended because I haven�t responded to your note or email or added you as a favorite. I just haven�t had the time to weed you out as a psycho nazi-sympathizer yet. I�ll get back to you soon.

Now it's your turn... 3 comments so far:

desertwitch - 2002-11-13 10:34:28

Dang. I was also stupid enough to list a certain diary on my favorites because of the dry humor and precise descriptions in the first couple of entries, then the next day went into his archives and found a nauseating little diatribe on my very own ethnicity. I felt very stupid for assuming that anyone who writes that well must also be human. It's a relief to know that even a sharp actuarial minde : ) like yours can make the same boo-boo! Much love!


mangus - 2002-11-13 10:36:07

wahoo I got my name in your diary! How painfully cool am I?? Ya know, everytime you write about driving through NJ I'm always reminded of driving from Boston MA to MountainSaide NJ to visit my grandparents when I was little. My father is very much a Boston driver and I always throught that I was going to die as we zipped through the lanes of traffic in NJ. My very short life would flash before my eyes a few times in a row, just to make it seem longer and a bit more fulfilling. Ah sweet childhood memories


goodlovin - 2002-11-13 10:36:28

i didn't add you to my list of reads just so you would add me, i added you becuase i like your diary. so don't feel bad or be in a rush to read me. i can assure you , however, that i am not a nazi sympathiser, racist, or any of the other things you mentioned. i will admit thast i cannot spell any better than dan quayle. sorry.


Prev | Next